History of the World MOON Project


2001 The World MOON Project begins at Ball State University, and Ohio State University becomes a partner soon thereafter. 
2003 The World MOON Project is honored with the Ohaus Award for Innovations in Science Teaching by the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA).
2004 Texas Tech University and Indiana University - Purdue University at Columbus join the partnership. 
2005 Oklahoma State University joins, and the project goes international with the addition of Australian Catholic University and Shiga University in Japan.
2006 The World MOON Project relocates to Texas Tech University.
2007 The University of North Dakota, the C.W. Post campus of Long Island University, St. Gregory’s University, Northwestern Oklahoma State University, and Midwestern State University join the project. 
2008 Georgia Southern University and the University of Western Australia join the project.
2009 Transworld Institute of Technology (Taiwan) join the project.


Under the leadership of Texas Tech, these universities have informally joined together in the I.V. STEM Classroom initiative to develop methods for students to work together internationally, via the Internet, in exemplary science, math, and technology instruction.